European map for Europe Translations page

Europe is a continent with rich linguistic diversity. There are approximately 225 indigenous languages spoken in Europe. 

Europe is a continent with rich linguistic diversity. The most widely spoken languages in Europe belong to the Indo-European language family, which includes Germanic languages like English, German, Dutch, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, and Icelandic; Romance languages like French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, and Romanian; Slavic languages like Russian, Polish, Ukrainian, Czech, Slovak, Slovenian, Serbian, Croatian, and Bulgarian; as well as Celtic languages like Irish, Scottish Gaelic, and Welsh.

The Uralic language family is also represented in Europe, with Finnish, Estonian, and Hungarian being spoken in northern and eastern parts of the continent. Additionally, Turkish is spoken in southeastern Europe as part of the Turkic language family. The Afro-Asiatic language family is represented by Maltese, which is spoken in Malta. Basque is an isolated language spoken in the Basque region of Spain and France, and Romani is spoken by the Romani people, who have historically been a nomadic group throughout Europe.

Overall, Europe’s linguistic diversity reflects its rich history and cultural ties to different parts of the world.


Albania, Kosovo, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia

Armenia, Nagorno-Karabakh, Georgia, Iran, Russia

Azerbaijan, Iran, Turkey, Georgia, Russia.

Belarus, Poland, Russia, Ukraine, Lithuania

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, Croatia

Bulgaria, Turkey, Ukraine, Serbia, Greece

Spain, France, Italy, Andorra, Argentina

Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, Kosovo

Czech Republic, Slovakia, United States, Austria, Canada

Denmark, Germany, Greenland, Canada, U.S.

Netherlands, Belgium, Suriname, Aruba, and Curaçao

Estonia, Russia, Finland, Canada, U.S.

Finland, Sweden, Norway, Russia, Estonia

Netherlands, Belgium, Suriname, Aruba, and Curaçao

France, Canada, DRC, Madagascar, Cote d’Ivoire

Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Belgium, and Liechtenstein

Greece, Cyprus, Albania, Italy, and Turkey

Hungary, Romania, Slovakia, Serbia, Ukraine


Italy, Switzerland, San Marino, Vatican City, Croatia

Iraq, Turkey, Iran, Syria, Armenia

Latvia, Russia, United Kingdom, Ireland, United State

Lithuania, United Kingdom, Poland, Ireland, United States.

North Macedonia, Albania, Serbia, Bulgaria, Greece


Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Germany, United States

Poland, United Kingdom, Germany, United States, Belarus

Portugal, Angola, Mozambique, Guinea-Bissau

Romania, Moldova, Ukraine, Serbia, Hungary

Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Croatia


lovakia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Serbia, Romania

Slovenia, Italy, Austria, Hungary, Croatia

Spain, Andorra, Gibraltar, Portugal, France 

Sweden, Finland, Norway, Estonia, and Latvia

Turkey, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Greece, Germany

Ukraine, Russia, Poland, Moldova, Belarus